Superhero Pancakes!

all

Every good crime fighter knows that a balanced breakfast is the best way to start the day!  I had a little extra time this morning, so I figured I’d indulge my geeky urges and attempt something that I’ve been eager to try for a while now.  Superhero pancakes!

There was a problem, though.  I’m not very artistically inclined.  I wish I was, but the sad truth is that even my doodles end up lopsided.  And, as I soon found out,  pancake batter is a hard medium to work with!  Nevertheless, I’m not the type of person to let my profound lack of skills stop me from trying something that requires advanced techniques.  So I rolled up my sleeves, preheated the griddle, and got to work.

My first attempt was an Iron Man pancake.

ironman

I guess it kind of looks like Iron Man if you squint a little… Okay, I’ll admit it, this pancake was a failure.  But I like to think of failure as “practice for success.”  And the more I practiced, the better my pancake art got! My next attempt was wolverine.

wolverine

I think this one turned out a little better. At least you can see his ears and sort of tell who it is. You get the sense that this pancake is best at what he does, but what he does isn’t very nice.

Next up, the Avengers symbol:

avengers

Avengers Assemble!  I’m proud of this addition to my pancake portfolio, mainly because I successfully got the “A” to be darker than the rest of the pancake.  The trick is to do it in stages.  Make an “A” out of batter and let it brown up before pouring the rest of the pancake around it.

The last pancake that I made is my favorite…

bat3

It’s a pancake Batarang!  Isn’t that cool?!  I think it’s cool.  And it was definitely easier to make once I got the hang of manipulating the pancake batter.

 

Have you ever made unique pancakes? Let’s talk about it in the comments section!

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

